The Government Structure of Pakistan

The Government of Pakistan is a federal government established by the constitution of Pakistan as a constituted governing authority of the four provinces.

The government is mainly composed of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, in which all powers are vested by the Constitution in the Parliament, the Prime Minister and the Supreme Court, the further powers and duties of these branches are defined by acts and amendments of the Parliament.

There is a bicameral parliament with the National Assembly as a lower house and the Senate as an upper house.

3 pillars of Government of Pakistan

The 3 pillars of government of Pakistan are Executive, legislative and judicial. The Government mainly consists of three branches; Executive, legislative and judicial. Executive consists of the Cabinet and is led by the Prime Minister and it is totally independent of the legislative that consists of a bicameral parliament. The judiciary forms with the combination of the Supreme court as an apex court, alongside the high courts and other inferior courts. The judiciary’s function is to explain or tell the meaning of Constitution and federal laws and regulations.

Politics of Pakistan

Pakistan is a multi-party democratic country. Pakistan is one of the youngest democratic countries in the world. The country has many political parties, the parliament of Pakistan is bicameral, consists of National Assembly of Pakistan and the Senate.


Keep Reading

Arif Alvi is currently the President of Pakistan; the head of the state is the president who is elected by the elected parliamentarians for a five-year term. The President has the power and the ability to suspend or moderate any sentence passed by any court or authority.

National Assembly of Pakistan

Members of National Assembly are elected by eighteen years of age. Assembly seats are allocated to four provinces on the basis of population. They serve on the parliamentary term which is five years, until unless they die or resign sooner.

The majority of the members are Muslim and about 5 percent of the seats are reserved for minorities, including Christians, Hindus and Sikhs. There is also 50+ special seats for women and those women are selected by their respective party head.


Related posts

10 Thoughts to “The Government Structure of Pakistan”

  1. […] The Government Structure of Pakistan […]

  2. […] The Government Structure of Pakistan […]

  3. graliontorile

    so much good info on here, : D.

  4. zoritoler imol

    Hello my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and includes approximately all vital infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this.

  5. graliontorile

    I got good info from your blog

Leave a Comment